Hope:A gleaning for such a season as this

15418554_10154929241633115_989723320050033778_o

The last 5 months I have not written a post for Coffee Gleanings so that I could take some time to focus on my own heart and healing.  Actually, I have been going through a book with a group called Mending the Soul by Celestia G. Tracy.  It has been a rough season but as we draw to the end of it, I find that my heart is able to breathe again.  I am able to find hope again.

I had the privilege of speaking at chapel this week at the private school I currently teach.  When I began to prepare the Lord whispered to me that I needed to speak on the Christmas story and specifically the theme of hope that it tells.  Really, I found it funny that the Lord would have me speak on hope when I am going through the whole “mending the soul” process because in that season life seems a bit…hopeless.  So, I pressed in and asked Him what about hope do you want me to speak on.  He said, “That my hope is in you.”  That didn’t sound right….God’s hope is in me?  That doesn’t even sound biblical.  Our hope is to be found in Him.  Period.  Right?  I became curious.  I started looking up definitions, scriptures, and other references to hope.  Could WE actually be God’s hope?  Then the Lord led me to the most beautiful series of images I have seen in my time with Him.

HOPE

Let me start with the definition of hope.  A modern view of this word may be that of a more naive look on life.  To wish for something or desire something very much but with no real assurance that you will get what you desire.  However, a more biblical meaning of the word is to wait with expectation and with a strong and confident assurance of good things in the future that we can’t see.  Then I found something interesting.  In Hebrew the word for hope is tikvah, and it means “to weave” as strands of rope, making a tool capable of holding a heavy load securely.  Then the Lord reminded me that faith is the substance of things hoped for, and it clicked.  Faith is a collection of hope.

FAITH=COLLECTED HOPE

If we make a choice to hope and begin to braid the little strands of hope together then something begins to form.  It is tangible.  It is a substance.  It is something we can hold on to in prayer to carry a heavy burden to the Lord.  It is faith.  Tikvah is used throughout the bible, but one mention of it is the story of Rahab and saving the Jewish spies by letting them escape Jericho from a red cord, a tikvah.  The symbolism here could have me going down many rabbit trails, but it was a great image to have stamped in my brain of the kind of chord that would be made by the process of tikvah.

EVER THOUGHT OF WHY JESUS HAD TO BE FORMED IN A WOMB, AND BORN LIKE A MAN?

I began to wander in my study on why Jesus had to be born.  Couldn’t He have just existed? He had just shown up before as the Angel of the Lord in the Old Testament, but why not now?  Why did He need to be born?  There are so many prophetic reasons and many more as to why Jesus needed to be born like a man, but one of the reasons the Lord revealed to me was that it was a message of hope.  Jesus was beautifully crafted and fashioned in a mother’s womb to reveal hope.

13For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
14 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
15 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
16 Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
17 How precious to me are your thoughts,[a] God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
18 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.

Psalms 139:13-18 NIV translation

Jesus was “woven” together.  The Lord used the means of tikvah to create Him.  A rope.  A cord.  A scarlet cord.  He was literally the substance of everything that the Jewish people had hoped for and that God the Father had hoped for.  He is the substance of everything that we hope for now and to this day.

YOU ARE HIS HOPE

Then in my time with the Lord He allowed me to see MYSELF being woven by His hands in my mother’s womb.  He was speaking over every strand that He added to the rope.  They were words of hope that He had placed in me from the womb, and He would only add more and more to the cord.  Then the Lord whispered this sweet word in my ear, “You are the substance of everything that I have hoped for.”  Then I saw it.  When I was born I was complete.  I was whole.  I was a perfect little “braid” so to speak, capable of perfect relationship with the Lord, innocent, pure, undamaged.  Even out of the womb I was capable of moving mountains for the Kingdom.  Why?  Because the Lord had already carefully crafted me with all the hope He had for me.  This is exactly why hell is desperate to steal, kill, pervert, and destroy us and its attacks begin right out of the womb with different hell-bent circumstances coming our way so that we form lies about the Lord, about others, and about ourselves.  Hell uses lies, the pains of this world, abuse, betrayal, sickness, and many more traumas to convince that we aren’t who God created us to be in His original design.  When we believe in these lies,  we start acting out of these lies, and strongholds begin to form and a new “identity” begins to rise and cover the orginal substance.  The orginal little braid.

In this season of mending my soul, I have seen the lies.  The tactics that hell has tried to use to damage the complete person I was created to be.  They are coming off now, and I am sending them back to hell where they came from.  I am a cord.  I am a braid.  I am the substance of everything that the Lord has hoped for and He delights in me.

Tikvah

Strand, upon glorious strand
The Weaver whispers the words as He smiles in hope.
Strand, upon glorious strand
The braid becomes ever more pronounced.
Strand, upon glorious strand
Hope begins to rise as questions fill the air.
Strand, upon glorious strand
We ask will this cord allow a flame to rest upon it and set it aglow?
Strand, upon glorious strand
The words continue to drip lovingly from The Weaver’s lips.
Strand, upon glorious strand
Hope grows to build a beautiful rope of faith.
Strand, upon glorious strand
This braid is the substance of everything hoped for.
Strand, upon glorious strand
This rope is me.  I am the very substance of everything The Weaver has hoped for.

YOU ARE THE SUBSTANCE OF HIS HOPE

I want to ask you to do two things.

First, get alone and quiet with the Lord and ask Him, “What were the words of hope that You whispered over me when you weaved me together in my mother’s womb?”  You could do this exercise everyday for the rest of your life and get a new word.  That is how many words of hope are weaved into you.  They “outnumber the grains of sand”.

Second, ask Him if there is anything that He would have you dare to hope for again?  What would He have you hope for again even if it didn’t “feel” so hopeful?

Then when you get a response from both, submit to it…fully.  Form new strongholds in your mind that the Lord has created.  Submit to His goodness.  You ARE the substance of EVERYTHING He has hoped for and He wants to delight in you.  That is why you were created.  He wants to delight in you and share His love.

Honestly, I am in awe of this word that the Lord placed in my heart.  I pray that it brings you hope in this season and the ones to come.

Leave a Reply

